

Apperson Award Recipients

The Richard L. Apperson Award, named in honor of PCACAC's first president, is the association's highest honor presented to a PCACAC member. It is awarded annually to a member whose career embodies the ideals of the association - providing extraordinary service to students, to PCACAC and to the college counseling profession. The recipient is announced at the Annual Spring Conference and is presented with an appropriately engraved Jefferson cup as well as temporary custody of the "Apperson Bowl."

The following recipients have received this prestigious award:

1973	Mary Ross Flowers	1998	James D. Holmes
1974	Lucille Norman	1999	Norma Smith Taliaferro
1975	Sallie W. Scott	2000	James J. Gorman
1976	Ann Splitstone	2001	Joan W. Mudge
1977	H. Kenneth Shook	2002	Bertrand R. Hudnall
1978	Charlotte Wilder	2003	Arlene P. Ingram
1979	Thomas N. Pollard, Jr.	2004	James W. Jump
1980	H. Conrad Warlick	2005	Ann Story Royall Powell
1981	Arria McGinnis	2006	Virginia Carey
1982	James R. Ten Broeck	2007	Betty Delk
1983	John T. Casteen III	2008	Evelyn Boyd-White
1984	Marion Flagg	2009	Joanne Wood
1985	Jean L. Rayburn	2010	Betty Jones
1986	Jud Samon	2011	Margaret Cothern
1987	Edward Smith	2012	Paul M. Feakins
1988	Joseph Monte	2013	Lisa M. Hill
1989	Pamela Fay-Williams	2014	Jenifer L. Blair
1990	Pamela W. Spence	2015	Jayne Caflin Fonash
1991	John A. Blackburn	2016	Sue Rexford
1992	Karl L. Wolf	2017	Louis L. Hirsh
1993	Martin A. Wilder, Jr.	2018	Mike Oligmueller
1994	Audrey T. Hill	2019	Dr. Michael Carter
1995	Marjorie S. Leoning	2021	Mildred Johnson
1996	Katherine L. Reilly	2022	Anthony Ambrogi
1997	Bonnie Fitzpatrick	2023	Kathleen Martin