Inclusion, Access and Success

Chair:  Melisa Hypolite, College Access Program Specialist, College Bound Foundation (MD)
Vice Chair:  Bryan G. Nance, The Ohio State University (MD)

Committee Members:

  • Cailin Asip, Hollins University (NC)
  • Charlain Bailey, Independent Educational Consultant (MD)
  • Catherine Box, Woodberry Forest School (VA)
  • Rachel Cleaver, George Mason University (VA)
  • Hillary Diehl, Randolph-Macon College (VA)
  • Renee Duckworth, St. Vincent Pallotti High School (MD)
  • Jennifer Ewing, Cristo Rey Jesuit High School (MD)
  • Jason Faulk, Longwood University (VA)
  • Dave Fedorchak, Towson University (MD)
  • Dominique Footes, University of the District of Columbia (DC)
  • Kristina Hall, Caesar Rodney High School (DE)
  • Bradley Harlan, College of William & Mary (VA)
  • Skye Heasley, Radford University (VA)
  • Shannon Jefferies, DC International School, (DC)
  • Jordan Kanarek, Collegewise (MD)
  • Willie Lee, III, GOing2COLLEGEisEZ (VA)
  • Jeremiah Shepherd, Flint Hill School (VA)


Mission Statement

The Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee develops and recommends goals which promote sensitivity to human differences and guide the expansion of equal access for all students to post-secondary opportunities.

 The Inclusion, Access, and Success Committee strives to do the following:

  1. address issues regarding traditionally underrepresented student populations,
  2. ensure equal opportunity and access to education for students,
  3. provide professional development opportunities for educators who serve these students,
  4. promote the reality of the changing demographics of the U.S. and the implications for the students we all serve.

The Committee addresses the above concerns by working to increase the racial, geographical and institutional diversity of PCACAC; supporting the NACAC National College Fairs in our region; providing presentations at our Conferences and administering the Marion Flagg Scholarship program.

Joining Hands for College

Philosophy: JHC is a grass roots initiative for stretching college counseling into the community. The program flows up from each community rather than using a top down model that is administered at the Board level. The goal is for the program to succeed independently with the support and guidance of the Board but not the administration.

  • A minimum of three programs this year in the region with expansion to a national level.
  • Establish a template for the Joining Hands program that is accessible on the website for any motivated professional to develop in their community.
  • To provide the resources, both monetary and structurally, to allow inspired people throughout the nation to give it a try.
  • To possibly expand the program to other community groups.
  • For colleges to consider hosting a program.

Marion Flagg Scholarship

The Marion Flagg Scholarship is awarded annually to a group of exceptional education professionals who are not currently members of PCACAC and have not attended a PCACAC Conference.  These professionals are generally high school counselors, two- or four-year college admission professionals, independent counselors or persons who work in such outreach programs as “I Have a Dream” and “Upward Bound.”  The Scholarship covers both the costs of the Conference (including registration fees, hotel, meals and travel) and a year of membership in PCACAC.  The Scholarship is named in honor of Marion R. Flagg, one of the organization's most outstanding members and a tireless advocate for underrepresented students.

Student Support Grant

Do you have a student event or project that you’d like to see come to life?  We recognize that members may not always have the financial resources to implement student programming and, since 2013, have provided help through our Student Support Grant (SSG).  If you know a way to help your students in the college process, but don't have the funds to carry it out, or you know of a community program that needs funding to deliver college counseling programming, we may be able to help fund the program you have been dreaming about! Each year we accept applications for the Student Support Grantdesigned to reimburse counseling professionals in their development and implementation of programs that directly benefit students. 

Who may apply? PCACAC members may apply for a Student Support Grant for their own student program or they may wish to nominate a community member whose volunteer work nurtures college readiness.  For detailed information about the selection criteria and application process, please review the Student Support Grant (SSG) guidelines. One $400 grant will be awarded for 2019.